Shaibu, Edo First Lady Inaugurate Committee For Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament (BOWFT)

Shaibu, Edo First Lady Inaugurate Committee For Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament (BOWFT)

The Deputy Governor of Edo State, Rt.Hon. Comrade Philip Shaibu and Edo First Lady, Mrs. Betsy Obaseki, have formally inaugurated an 11-man Organizing Committee, for the 2nd Edition of the Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament, BOWFT.

The Committee is chaired by Mr. Yusuf Ali, Chairman, Edo State Sports Commission. 

Speaking during the inauguration of the committee, Shaibu appreciated the First Lady for the initiative of promoting the girl-child through sports, thereby discouraging illegal migration.

He noted: "Your quest at deepening and promoting the girl-child through sports is well appreciated, adding that "as a government, our desire is to continue to develope and support sports in the State and help us meet our country aspirations in the sector."

"It was not a misplaced priority that I was invited for the FIFA event during the World Cup unveiling in Qatar, but it was due to the numerous sports Infrastructural development in the State." 

In her address, the First Lady, Mrs. Betsy Obaseki, stated that the 1st edition of the tournament tagged: "PROMOTING THE GIRL CHILD," was adjudged to be world standard in terms of organization and commended the Committee for a job well done. 

She stated that the 2nd Edition will run from 7th - 17th September, 2022 with the objective to addressing the issue of DRUG ABUSE.

Mrs. Betsy Obaseki announced the constitution of a Board of Trustees for the Tournament to be chaired by herself , while the Deputy Governor, Rt. Hon. Comrade Philip Shaibu, will serve as the Vice Chairman. 
Other members of the Board of Trustees include Senator Daisy Danjuma, Asue Ighodalo, Aisha Folade, Moses Ajayi, Eric Idiaye and Godwin Ehighiamusor. She said the move was to institutionalised the yearly tournament so that it outlives the present initiators. 

In his response, Chairman of the organising committee, Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament, Mr. Yusuf Ali,thanked the Deputy Governor and the First Lady for the confidence reposed in the committee members, while pledging that "the committee would do its best to ensure that the State Government achieves its vision to reposition sports in the State.

Other members of the committee include Crusoe Osagie, Emmanuel Igbinosa, Barr. Osayaba Osarenren, Maria Edeko, Frank Ilaboya, Kweku Tandoh, Mrs Chattie Anakhu. Others are Peter Okonkwo, CSP, William Wana and Sabina Chikere who is to serve as the secretary of the committee

Twelve teams will be participating, ten of which will be from the Nigeria professional league, while two will come from the local and amateur teams in Edo State.This will enable us to promote and improve their professional standard.

Winners will receive a cash prize of N5million, second N3million, third N1.5million fourth N750k, while other participating teams will receive N500k as appearance fee.


Post a Comment