APC Presidential Primary: Three aspirants have stepped down for Osinbajo

APC Presidential Primary: Three aspirants have stepped down for Osinbajo



•Buhari’s will prevails as all aspirants allowed to contest

The Director-General of the Yemi Osinbajo Campaign Organisation, Senator Kabiru Gaya, says that three presidential aspirants in the All Progressives Congress (APC) have stepped down for the Vice-President, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo.

Gaya, who represents Kano-South senatorial district, made the claim Tuesday evening on Channels Television.

He however failed to identify the three aspirants, only claiming that former Senate President Ken Nnamani who stepped down on Monday did so in honour of Osinbajo.

Gaya stated: “We have Vice-President Osinbajo and Bola Tinubu. I am aware that some aspirants have stepped down for Osinbajo. Nnamani and two others have stepped down for Osinbajo.”

This is contrary to the claim of Nnamani, who had while withdrawing from the race, lamented the political marginalisation of the South-East.

Contrary to reports of an imminent consensus arrangement, it happened that all the 23 aspirants have been allowed to contest in keeping with President Muhammadu Buhari’s insistence that no one should be excluded from the contest.

The presidential primary of the ruling party kicked off hours behind schedule – around 7:40 p.m., as President Buhari arrived the Eagle Square venue.

The President’s arrival preceded that of the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo.

He was ushered into the arena with a resounding ensemble by the Guards Brigade, after which the exercise commenced in full bloom.

For hours, delegates, party chieftains, aspirants, and guests have been waiting for a primary that was accompanied by so much intrigue and controversy.

On hand to welcome President Buhari were the APC National Chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, members of the party’s National Working Committee (NWC), as well as other leaders of the party.

In what could be described as last-minute consultations, the President had met with various chieftains and stakeholders within the party, including Governor Yahaya Bello who was at the State House earlier on Tuesday regarding issues that were not unconnected with whom the flagbearer for the party should be.

There had been a declaration allegedly by the APC national chairman, suggesting that the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, had emerged as the consensus candidate – an action that was resisted by stakeholders.

But President Buhari, in a rebuttal, said he has not anointed anyone, adding that there would be no imposition of any candidate on the party.

The northern governors also had agreed that the presidency should be zoned to the south, although the decision did not go down well with everyone. At the time of filing this report, consultations were said to be ongoing behind the scene among various aspirants and leaders of the party.

Post a Comment