Anti open grazing bill scales second reading in Edo assembly
         Qries                Qries

Anti open grazing bill scales second reading in Edo assembly

A bill for a law to prohibit open grazing of cattle and other livestock on Monday passed through second reading on the floor of the Edo House of Assembly

Leading the debate for the passage of the bill, Hon.Henry Okhuarobo, Majority Leader of the House, said the bill seeks to provide solution to the incessant farmers and herder clashes in the state.

Hon.Okhuarobo said the bill also seeks to introduce modern methods of ranching.

According to him, the bill if passed, would create a conducive environment for farmers to engage in agricultural activities and would also regulate livestock business in the state

Hon.Francis Okiye, member representing ( PDP Esan North East 1), said the bill if passed, would encourage modern ranching with a value chain that would create wealth for the state.

Hon.Okiye noted that the bill, if passed would eliminate the dangers associated with open grazing.

Other lawmakers unanimously supported the passage of the bill with a call on the security agencies in the state to step up their game especially in rural communities.

Speaker Rt.Hon.Marcus Onobun said the bill was timely adding that, as representative of the people the responsibility of government was to ensure peace and development.

With no dissenting voice, the speaker thereafter subjected the bill to a voice vote and was unanimously supported by the lawmakers.

The speaker, directed the clerk, Yahaya Omogbai to forward copies of the bill to the house committee on food security.

According to the speaker, the committee would interface with the civil societies and other stakeholders in the state with a view to fine-tune it and report back in two weeks.

Also at plenary, the house received a letter from governor Godwin Obaseki requesting it to confirm members of the sports commission board.

The board has Yusuf Alli as Chairman , Frank Ilaboya, Anehita Emeya, and Osayaba Osarenren as Executive Directors, Edo North, Central and South respectively.

Others are Dr Emmanuel Igbinosa, Asue Ighodalo and Uyi Akpata.

Post a Comment